30 and single – oh dear!

Hi, Im Dan!  And let me tell you my tale of woe.  At the start of this year, I found myself single for the first time in 3 years.  Now usually this would be no big deal, right?  I mean I’m young, relatively fit, not super ugly, and have social skills (except when I’m drunk, then I’m just mean).  Except this time, for the first time, it dawned on me – I was no longer young.  You see I had just ticked over to the ripe old age of 30.  An age where, traditionally, a man should have a wife, a career, a house, and probably even some kidlets.

I know what you’re thinking, you’re saying “But Dan!  Age is just a number man, you’re only as young as you feel”.  And ordinarily I’d agree with you, 30 is the new 25 and all that new age metrosexual hippy BS latte sipping crap.  But you see, the problem with ageing is not that you get OLD per se.  The problem with ageing is that your avenues for meeting people shrink rapidly.  When I was young, and first started dating, I was in highschool.  Literally packed into close proximity with about 500 blossoming young ladies.  Which would have been great, had I not been socially retarded.  As I got older and found myself single again, I was at university – with all those liberal young women just looking to rail against the system and their burdensome parents (at this point, I was slightly less socially retarded – I may have even got laid).
Fast forward to the age of 30, and I’m still at uni (stop your snickering, I’m doing a PhD, that’s like being a ninja of the brain!), but suddenly without a pool of women to interact with, unless you’re into hanging out with 18 year olds like a creepy old man.  Those of my age range that I do meet are all taken.  Well, the good ones anyway.  And it’s a bad idea to hook up with female members of your social group (trust me, I learned that the hard way).  So the question is, what to do?  As a red blooded man with needs I’m not prepared to live a chaste, hermit-like existence.
The answer of course, as in all things, is the internet.  I invite you to stick around, and I shall detail (rant?) the trials and tribulations of dating in the modern world.  I’ll be hitting up a number of dating sites (free ones of course, I’m a poor student remember?), and bring you the highs and lows of my journey!
And in the off chance you’re a fabulous, articulate, educated young single woman, feel free to leave a comment 😉
Dan.
Leave a Reply

